Failed to show rs who?

joelolson

When trying to open system coms or rs who I get an error that says: Failed to show rs who: Cant access file: C:\Program files (x86)\Rockwell Software\RSCommon\Harmony.rsh

This also happens in rs linx.

Note: I have been using RSLogix on this computer for about 4 months with no issues.

I have tried going into services and restarting Harmony with no success.

Any Ideas?

There was a Windozer update that broke RSLinx on my partner's laptop. He is running Windows 10 Pro. We fixed it by removing certain windows updates that occured on Jan 3, 2018 and then paused the updates. I will hunt down some links ...

Microsoft security updates KB4056892, KB4056890, KB4056891, KB4056895, KB4056896, KB4056888, KB4056898, or KB4054517 broke a whole bunch of Rockwell Software stuff. On my partner's machine, only two updates listed above were installed, and it was KB4056891 that we removed to fix his this morning.

https://rockwellautomation.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1071234

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...t-a-windows-update-from-reinstalling-in-windo

Last edited:
Check the Product Compatibility Center for your version of RSLinx.

After installing Microsoft security updates KB4056892, KB4056890, KB4056891, KB4056895, KB4056896, KB4056888, KB4056898, or KB4054517 anomalous behavior has been observed with FactoryTalk based products.

Also do this:

Go to Start --> Settings --> Control Panel --> Services
Double click the Harmony service

Note: If there is no Harmony service, run the repair on RSLinx Classic application from the Windows Control Panel. If there is Harmony service, it will most likely be disabled. Double-click and set it to Manual. Then click Apply --> OK --> Close. Verify if this has solved the issue if not continue.

In the General tab, verify the Path to executable:

32-bit OS:
C:\Program Files\Rockwell Software\RSCommon\RSOBSERV.EXE

64-bit OS:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Rockwell Software\RSCommon\RSOBSERV.EXE