false tripping of a metal detector

walleye

i work as a maintenance electrician in a sawmill.we have had some problems with a metal detector tripping when other a machine centre shuts down for breaks.when the first machine shuts down,another machine centre also does and the control power is lost shutting it down.the vibrating conveyor mounted above the search coil was installed at the proper distance and has a fibreglass trough over it.

i have read the troubleshooting manual for the metal detector and it said to
install a .47micro farad capacitor to the coil of the magnetic starter.

i will try this at shutdown, but has anyone had to deal with this before?

Our SafeLine metal detectors are sometimes flaky too. We use isolation transformers for their power to help. Also, I have been told that a cellphone too close will set them off even if it is turned off.

very common problem I've worked on safeline and the two different Loma models the types of problems I've encountered with nuisance tripping are as follows. Poor power supply (make sure you check for ground to neutral feedback anything more than 1 amp and it will cause problems. Dirty conveyer belting. mechanical vibration is a very strong source of problems. leaking capacitor on the capacitor bank. (in this case you usually have to send the head to th manufacturer.) Seen in one case where it was the main board on the Loma IQ2 model. in the case of the IQ2 sometimes the compensation value is too far off to correct do the autocalibration after doing the ferrite calibration. Also for the Lomas check the ADC values in the Loma menu X and R values should stay near 0
when you have no product It been too long since I worked with Safeline to provide much help there. It may help if you can provide the make and model of which detector you are using as each is manufactured differently. Harmonics can also have a crippling effect EMF is not so common but easily assumed.

Last edited:
walleye said: