Fan in an electrical cabinet

Thermoelectric solid state coolers

I think GSI1 was getting at is the Thermoelectric solid state air conditioners. My company is just now getting into producing these, so wait about six monthes before you use any. I am new to them but what they are in a nut shell is thermocouple working backwards. You supply DC power to them and they will heat on one side and cool the other. No moving parts other then the fans for the air flow. Here is a web site that contains info.
http://www.eicsolutionsinc.com/800.htm
The pricing is not much, if any, different then a "normal" air conditioner. The advantage is the noise level and no mechanics.

Well I just got off of the phone with EIC Solutions who (like craigsimon's company) sell a line of thermoelectric solid state air conditioning units.

I specifically asked and the salesman told me that the unit he quoted me (AAC-140B-4XT-HC) requires no type of filtration or cleaning in most environments (they do have fans but no air is exchanged between the cabinet and ambient environment). He described what he called his "worst" environments (lots of particles and oil/moisture in the air) and indicated that the cleaning practice for these units is to wash them down with high pressure water.

I think the price he gave me is a little high ($1000+), but for my current project I think I will buy one anyway.

Steve

Last edited: