Field Updates of code, S7-1200 and Tia portal v17

marko18

Hello all,

I'm very new to PLCs, and I'm working on a system utilizing an S7-1200 PLC with a KTP400 Basic HMI, and it was programmed in Tia portal v17. This system is currently in use by a customer on the other side of the country, but I have been working on a new version of the plc/hmi software in this system to fix some bugs and add a few features.

I am going to finalize and release a new revision of the software and was wondering how it would be possible to allow the customer to update the plc/hmi code of their system without having access to Tia Portal. The code I would be updating controls the PLC and the HMI, so both would need to be updated. Ideally they would just pop a memory card in the PLC and update the code that way, but I don't know how it would work. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Last edited:
The best way is to arrange a VPN connection. You can then both troubleshoot and load changes to both PLC and HMI.

In case you cannot get a remote VPN connection to the site.
For the S7-1200, theoretically, You could read out the content of the flash card in a normal card reader, zip the content and send it to the customer, and he reverses the process.
Just don't format the card in the card reader, even if Windows suggest to do so.
But I would be cautious, if anything goes wrong (i.e. formatting the card), your customer is f****d.
I would program a flash card and send it in the mail.

For the KTP400, Someone correct me if I am wrong, but I think that you cannot backup/restore to flashcard with the basic panels.
If backup/restore to flashcard is not possible, then use the Prosave program to create a backup file from a similar KTP400 panel where you have loaded the program with the change.
You can send the backup file plus the installation program for Prosave to the customer. The customer can then install the backup onto his own KTP400 panel.