Flood Detection Siemens LOGO

stickman1019

Hi Lads,

I want to implement a flood prevention system with my domestic water pump.
The intention is to have the water pump cut off on a daily basis if the electricity consumption exceeds 3 kWh per day.

In terms of hardware I have a Siemens LOGO 6ED1 053-1FA00-0BA0 micro PLC with a Sifam Tinsley AP25-1DO kWHr meter.
12 x AC Inputs & 4 x AC Outputs

The kWHr meter has a pulsed output which shall be 1 pulse per kWHr and is configurable to have a pulse width of either 200/100/60 ms.

As this is DC and my inputs on the PLC are AC my intention is to use the pulse to activate a interposing Solid state relay which a contact will energise input I3 of the PLC.

I have never used a pulsed signal before if I configure it for the max 200 m/s will this be long enough for the LOGO plc to see the input ?

Attached is a copy of the program which seems to be working in the simulator OK just need procure a programming cable to do a physical download to the PLC

I appreciate this is small chips in terms of the general the usual queries on the site but any help is greatly appreciated.

Summary of the program below
Bypass Switch is to allow bypass of system in the event Im using a lot of water i.e power housing etc.
Float Switch is located at the pump location should a flood occur locally in the bunded area it will drop the pump.
Pulse Inputis the input from the kWHr meter
Weekly Timer this activates on a daily basis at midnight with a delay on energisation relay in series before it resets the counter for the next day.

Siemens_Program_0BA0.jpg

I have used the LOGO in the past and can't guarantee it, but I think a 200ms pulse will be seen. I worked on a project where a cylinder switch triggered the cylinder to retract and that couldn't have been on near 200ms.

If you want to, get a DC timer set for OneShot and have that timer give a 1 second pulse