FTV SE 11 Derived tag expression won't stop running? idea?

coryjs

I asked this question briefly in my previous post long post, I'm asking again here as the main point so it doesn't get buried. I am pretty new at this so I am expecting to have overlooked something simple.

I have a factory talk SE distributed network server and was learning how to use derived tags to have the server communicate to a PLC. I right clicked the component and clicked start. The expression worked fine, it's running right now turning a bit off and on PLC side.

Next, I right clicked the component again and clicked stop. It never stopped.
I tried running DerivedOff on the component. I tried deleting the component and restarting the SE server. Restarting the SE server stopped the expression until it was rebooted.

Anyone have an idea for me?

What is the Diagnostic window showing you? Is there an error message when you try to stop? You should see two messages letting you know it is starting. The derivedon command, and then a system response letting you know it is starting that derived tag file. And then another two similar messages letting you know when it is stopping.

The derived on command will start running that derived tag file and it will keep running until it receives the derivedoff command. If the HMI server loses power then the derivedoff command was never sent. When that HMI reboots, the derived tag file will not automatically restart itself (unless it was configured to run automatically at power up).