FX2N-20MR chinese semi-clon of a Mitsubishi PLC and SCADA

lwmar

Dear all,

I have a FX2N-20MR chinese semi-clon of a Mitsubishi PLC. It has only a serial DB9 port that cannot be removed or exchanged (which is possible in the Mitsubishi original PLC). I wonder if I can make a simple SCADA system using that port and just one computer.

I am reading this post: https://forums.mrplc.com/index.php?/topic/9653-fx-series-and-modbus/

And I am wondering how I can do what it is suggested there in the second message: to use a free FB block, available in GX IEC (but not in GX Developer), which will communicate modbus via a standard RS232 BD board. Later on it mentions a library called ModbSFX. That message is from 15 years ago so I am wondering if now there is some other way to do it, perhaps some other software has that functionality? I don't have GX IEC.

I am a student trying to make a project so I would like a cheap and simple solution. Any help to do so will be very welcome.

Thanks
Regards

Marcelo

In the past there were HMI and SCADA screens with driver for the FX programming port.

I even programmed my own driver but I no longer have any information about it.

It is not a standard protocol and Mitsubishi never published it, I and probably others got it using reverse engineering.

I don't know if you can get any reference of that protocol

Besides, I always worked with real FXs, I don't know if the same would be applicable to the clone.