Gaining a better understanding of PID

Rob.Hill

I've been programming PLCs/ SCADA systems for the past 6 years, including a number of PID loops.

I've recently started working for myself and as such have decided to dedicate 1 day per week to developing my skills further.

I think next thing I'd like to focus on is PID loops. Whilst I understand the basics, I'd like to fully grasp the formula(s) & how they fit into real life better.

Its been a while since I did A-Level maths, but I'm sure I'll grasp it again quick enough.

So if anyone with the detailed knowledge (Peter?!) feels like they would like to help me out (or point me in the right direction!), it would be much appreciated!

I had two controls classes in back in college on tuning all different kinds of control loops, including PIDs. Though it is nice to learn the fundamentals, I have yet in my career had someone give me the mathematical model of a control system, then ask me to find all the poles and holes, do a LaPlace transform, and mathematically find the best values for a PID function. In fact, that is the beauty of the PID function and why it is so popular. It is one of the very few control methods that can be tune without knowing an exact model of the system you are controlling. For the most part, they can be tuned with trial and error and experience.

If you are really interested in the math, there are plenty of websites on the internet that has all the math formulas, derivations, and examples. Just be prepared to do a lot of calculus and transforms.