Help In PID Control

Joel201

Good Day,

I have been programming for a while and a complete newbie in using a PID Control block. Now i am studying đź“š it using PC worx and with the help of the internet about the control philosophy of a PID block but i can't still figure how it affect the output value so i am here if anyone can further more help me in understanding how to use the PID block of a PLC, much better if phoenix contact,. As for my simulation i am playing with the values of KP TD TR i have now idea how to control a VFD using the real number i am getting do i convert it to an int and then scale to the range of the analog output module am i on the right track? and can someone enlighten me so that i am not just putting random values at the KP TR and TD. Thanks in advance. :D:sick:

Regards,
Joel

:EDIT:
just another thing my application is flow control using a VFD and Flow Transmitter.

Last edited:
A very simplistic view on PID's

Kp - Proportional - Is the setpoint to which you need to achieve, depending on the process this could take a long time to be reached (technically if you want to be pedantic it is never reached). This is where the integral comes in.
Tr - Integral - Is a time constant put in to for an output boost, If the proportional is taking too long to achieve the setpoint value (the value set in Tr) then the output is boosted to get there. If this time is too long then oscillation about the setpoint could be introduced. This is where the derivative helps.
Td - Derivative, This value opposes the Integral, in effect reducing the rate of change (this control is not always required depending on the process).

As I said this is a very simplistic view of PID that I used to try to explain it to a mechanic.

Steve

nehpets