Help with simple practical SCADA demo

aap

Hi folks,
Disclaimer: I'm a PLC newbie! :D

I need to create a small and cheap PLC/SCADA demo, where the underlying idea is to experience with security of SCADA.

My idea would be to have
- a proximity sensor: probably an inductive prox sensor as they seem cheaper. So it'll detect if I put some metal close to it.
- a PLC, to be programmed
- a on/off switch: to power on/off [reset] the demo
- two light bulbs or LEDs one green, one red.

Whenever I put some metal close to the sensor, the green bulb lights.
After 10 times, the red one lights.
Or something like that.

Now, in practice:
- there are inductive proximity sensors around $17 at AutomationDirect.
- Koyo DirectLogic DL05 also seems relatively cheap at AutomationDirect, or I could perhaps find a second hand one.
- to program the PLC, I need a cable D2-DSCL

Q1. How do I connect the proximity sensor to the PLC? Do I need a specific cable? :confused:

Q2. How do I connect the PLC to the two red/green LEDs? :confused:

Q3. My scenario lacks usage of ModBus or DNP3... which would be great testing. Any ideas to evolve it?

Thanks
-- Aap

Thanks, I had read the manuals, but I guess I don't understand them fully.

In my case, the sensor is NPN so it must be connected to a current sourcing input.

Now in chap2 of the manual, they explain the wiring, but I miss the basics :(

"wiring" = I just put a wire between the input and I solder ???? or else ?
"supply" = is that a shortcut for power supply ? or else ?

Thanks, actually, my question was more about wiring and I found the answer here:
http://plchowto.com/wiring-plcs/

Though I still don't know what kind of wire I should be buying. Sorry for the silly question but does Arduino-like breadboard wire work? or do I need something else?

Also, where can I get a suitable 12-24 VDC power supply?

Thanks!

This sounds more like a PLC example, not a SCADA example.