Help with Traffic Light Circuit

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to PLC and RSLogix5000, as I am currently a student.

I am doing a traffic light project, which is only running off of one timer. The circuit functions as it should and we are able to make a flashing advanced green using the ACC.9 command. Where I'm running in to trouble is, when the process is not running the red lights need to flash in case of an outage, my classmates and I cannot figure out for the life of us how to make these two lights flash. I feel like it could be something with the PRE command but I am not sure as I have not used it before.

If anyone could offer some advice or a point in the right direction, that would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Welcome to the forum!

what do you mean by "process is not running?" That the PLC is not in RUN mode?

Can you post your code (including a PDF of the ladder is best, as not everyone has RSLogix5k)?

Id suggest checking into the various bits available with the TON/TOF/RTO instructions. Therein you should find what you need to cause lights to flash when your timer isn't doing anything.

You'll also learn what Pre, ACC, DN, TT, are with this. And restricting yourself to one timer may not be ideal. Depends on what your instructor has set for the requirements.

When I did a traffic light I put it in night-mode from 23;00 to 05:59.

During this time I set a Night-Mode bit and interrupt the main cycle timer, then have it run its own timer I use to flash the red lights one way and the yellow lights the other way. It sound like you want a 4 way red for your project.

Then for the outputs instead of having the lights controlled with the green and yellow lights, have those rungs set CallForNSRed and CallForEWRed bits, then have the night timer set its similar bits.

Later, after both sections, check either bit for the NS red light and both bits for the EW red light.