HMI/Multiple PLC's?

Hello all! I'm fairly new to PLC programming and even newer to this site, so please be kind! The answer to my question might be right under my nose, and if I don't see it I apologize. Anyway-

I have a SLC 5/03 rack in a machine communicating with a PVP 1000 at my plant. My goal is to add an additional input (a photo eye probably) way on the other side of my plant, but I need to do it very inexpensively. I would like to utilize my plants network to cover the distance, but without purchasing additional hardware, like a Flex I/O for instance. I do have an unused Micrologix 1100 sitting on the shelf. Is it possible to network my PVP with my SLC and a ML? Or possibly have the ML send its data to the SLC? I know that's possible with tags in the 5000 series of controllers, but not sure with the 500's...

I'm still learning all of the capabilities of each, and I thought it might be quicker to ask the brain trust and maybe get some other clever ideas in the process. Thanks guys!

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum!

Any of your suggested ideas are in theory workable, although there's a few things to check before deciding which is your best option.

As the SLC5/03 doesn't have ethernet, I'm guessing that it'll be communicating with the PVP over serial. It's possible that there's an ethernet adaptor there, but I'd suspect the link to the PVP would be serial. Is this the case?

So if you wire your sensor into the ML1100, and connect the ML1100 to the network, then yes, a PVP on ethernet can read the ML1100 over ethernet. But. Only if your PVP is also on the ethernet network! If it's not, you could always add it to the ethernet network and it can talk serial to the SLC and ethernet to the ML1100 at the same time, provided your PVP does have an ethernet port.