Measuring average daily temperature?

peterparch

P
I am complete novice to the world of PLC programming but am trying to learn.
I have an application that requires using the previous day's average temperature to control the duration that a water valve is opened for operating an irrigation system.
I have downloaded and experimented with the demonstration software from Mitsubishi for their Alpha series PLCs and also browsed through the software and programming manuals. Although the instantaneous temperature can be measured with an analog input port I cannot figure out how, or if, repeated measurements made at different times can be processed to come up with a daily average, maximum or minimum.

Is it possible to do this with the Alpha PLCs ,or any other PLC for that matter?

peterparch said:
...Is it possible to do this with the Alpha PLCs ,or any other PLC for that matter?

Like any average, you need to first decide of the samples.

1 reading per hour?
1 reading per minute?
1 reading per second?
1 reading per scan?

Then you ADD the readings and DIVIDE by the sample.

Simple enough?

And to add to that, its nice if the PLC features a real time clock so that you don't have to rely on counting second timers and the accumulated error that may occur. Then, if you want to take a temperature measurement every hour, it becomes real easy.

One of the neat things when you register is we get an idea of where you are. SO I will assume you are in the USA.

You can get average temperature from you local newspaper or the National Weather Service. It may be reported in terms of degree days ie (temp minus 65F).

Also with respect to irrigation
in addition to average temp, would you not also be interested in some measure of clear sky (ie more sun requires more water ??).
What about relative humidity?? Irrigation inversely proportional to RH ??
Last wind speed - more airflow more drying factor ??