Micro Logix 1100 to PVP Project

WillM

Hi there. I've been an industrial electrician for 6 years straight from school and I'm currently undertaking my first project with a PLC and HMI.

Brief overview of the project...

Its a test rig that that will allow for the user to connect a moving casting arm for calibration and fault diagnosis.
- 4-20ma position signal
- 4-20ma feedback
- A small amount of digital I/Os for over temp, air shut, calibrated position...

Our site keeps most cards for the 1747 and 1757 series in stock and the initial idea was to go with a rack system, but it was going to be hugely overkill so I've been looking at the Micro Logix range. The 1100 combined with the Analogue I/O Module (1762-IF2OF2) appears to tick all the boxes as a stand alone PLC but this is where my weakness of HMIs comes in....

Will I find any issues with running Panel View Plus from the ML1100?

Are there any limitations I may come across? I want to use the PVP to input values to drive the arm throughout its range, and then display the feed back as it moves.

And after watching some videos of Factory Talk ME on Youtube I don't think the design process looks too hard. Is it easy enough to pick up?

Thanks for all the help.
Will.

You will have no problem using a PV+ with a Micrologix 1100.

It sounds as if you already have the FTVME software??

If not be aware that it is not free and cost a pretty penny to purchase.

You can download a version of RSLogix 500 Micro Starter Lite for FREE from the Rockwell site.

FTVME is not that bad to pick up and start to use.

BCS

You will have no problem using a PV+ with a Micrologix 1100.

It sounds as if you already have the FTVME software??

If not be aware that it is not free and cost a pretty penny to purchase.

You can download a version of RSLogix 500 Micro Starter Lite for FREE from the Rockwell site.

FTVME is not that bad to pick up and start to use.

BCS

Perfect! Just what i wanted to hear.