Micrologix 1100 and Advanced Hmi

Yertoo

I’m new to plc programming and very new to HMIs. So this is what I have done so far: I bought a micrologix 1100, I used bootP to set the up address. I started up rslinx and got the plc connected to my pc. I started up rslogix micro starter lite and created a new project( selected the driver from rslinx) and made a single rung program with an XIC on the left and a contactor on the right. Then I downloaded the program to the plc and went online and switched to run mode after the download completed. I downloaded Advanced HMI and opened the sample file in visual studio. I added the communication driver for micrologix as instructed. Selected the communication driver and set the up address to the ip address of my currently connected micrologix. I added a momentary button and set the PLCAddressClick to B3:0/0 (the memory location for my start button/ the XIC I mentioned before). That’s every step I’ve made. Now when I build the solution and start the hmi program, the start button text says “path to destination unknown”. I’m not sure if there is something else I have forgotten to set up or what is going on but I can’t seeem to get advanced hmi to find my plc. Thanks for any help you can provide!

The micrologix IP is 192.168.1.100 and my pc is 192.168.1.200. Rslogix seems to have no problem finding the micrologix, in fact I can even go into run mode and turn the outputs on and off. I even hear the contractors clicking, but advanced hmi is not finding it at all :/

You know what? You may be right I haven’t restarted it since I installed it. I’ll try that as soon as I get back to my desk. I’ll let ya know how that goes!

Make sure that the ML1100 Ethernet Channel Configuration has BootP turned off and then power cycle the PLC before you attempt to access it with 3rd party HMI software.