MicroLogix 1400 Power Input

einstein_g

I'm very new to PLCs and have just acquired a MicroLogix 1400 1766-L32BWA.

I can see on the output terminal block two terminals (first two on the left), labeled VAC L1 and VAC L2/N.

I'm assuming that the PLC is powered through these two terminals. Should I connect them directly to a 240V AC socket (i.e mains power)?

The product manual doesn't seem to be clear on this. If there's any link to an online guide on how to wire this PLC that would be nice.

Thanks everybody. I wasn't sure whether the 240 AC is connected to the L1 and L2/N terminals. Just got the PLC powered. Thanks again.

roxusa said:
I dont see what fuse size to use in manual, I would imagine its small

The 1766-L32BWA power supply is rated at 120VA. If you connect 240VAC then that will result in a current consumption of 0.5A (120 ÷ 240 = 0.5).

jraef said:
Keep in mind that although the POWER for the unit can be 120 or 240V, the OUTPUTS are limited to 120VAC...

You may be thinking of another model?

The 12 digital outputs available on the 1766-L32BWA are Relay outputs. They are rated for 120/240VAC @ 2.5A continuous. The maximum rating is 125/250VAC @ 1.0A continuous.

Regards,
George

You're right, sorry. It's the INPUTS that are only 120VAC, not 240V. Not a problem here in North America because if you have 240VAC single phase, it's never more than 120V L-N. But I've had people fry them using the 208V "stinger leg" on a 240V 3 phase delta source. The PLC itself doesn't care because it can take it, but the Inputs can't. The same would hold true overseas as well; they have 230V L-N.

Hehe, I still think you're thinking of another model? Perhaps the 1766-L32AWA (AC IN RLY OUT)?

The 1766-L32BWA has 20 x 24VDC inputs (12 Fast / 8 Normal).
The 1766-L32AWA has 20 x 120VAC inputs...

1766-L32BWA%20IO%20Specs.png

jraef said: