Modbus Communication between EATON Power Meter and Accuenergy Data Acquisition Server

Primed1

Hi All,

I am using an Accuenergy Data Acquisition Server (https://www.accuenergy.com/products/aculink-810-data-acquisition-gateway-server/) to log data from a number of power meters. Each of the power meters communicates with the Accuenergy via Modbus RTU. I am having trouble getting the Accuenergy to poll data from an EATON IQ100 meter. A snapshot of the Modus Map for the EATON Meter is below. These are the three parameters that I am trying to poll.

attachment.php

I am new to Modbus (I'm an electrician) and I think I might be setting up the Modbus template wrong. In setting up the template the Acculink logger. The UI requires the following:

attachment.php

For Function, I select "Read_Holding REGISTERS" As I believe the power meter Modbus map uses Holding Registers only. I then enter 0383 as the starting address and in "Count", I enter 6. The UI then asks for the following:

attachment.php

To read "Watts, 3-Ph total" I enter the address 0383 and in multiplier the number 1. Does this seem correct so far? Unfortunately, I can't seem to make it work... I have also attached the full Modbus map for the EATON meter in case I am missing something.

Capture11.JPG 1617746145685.png Capture12.JPG

Attachments

• IQ_100_Series_Modbus_Map.pdf
    141.8 KB · Views: 5
I would have entered data just like you have done.

An assumption is that for the 'count' that 'block elements' means the number of 16 bit Modbus Holding registers being requested, which for all 3 meter variables would be a quantity of six 16 bit Modbus registers for 32 bit floating point values; and not 8 bit bytes.

I've found that Start addresses requesting hex values are always zero-based, as is this map, where the hex values are decimal values minus one (or decimal is hex plus one).