Need Help Siemens MB_COMM_LOAD

dabanani

Hello guys,
I am new to Siemens PLC world and I have a task of setting up communication via modbus to send and receive analog data to a device.
I tried to read help files on MB_COMM_LOAD but cannot fully understand.

By the way I am using Siemens software TIA version 11.

Can anyone help explain to me how to program communication through modbus especially how addressing work for several analog inputs and outputs
Thank you in advance for your help

I guess that it is an S7-1200 that you are working on and I would recommend that you upgrade TIA Portal software to version 12 SP1

The "MB_COMM_LOAD" instruction configures a port for communication using the Modbus RTU protocol.
"MB_COMM_LOAD" must be called once to configure the port for the Modbus RTU protocol. On completion of the configuration, the port can be used by the "MB_MASTER" and "MB_SLAVE" instructions.
"MB_COMM_LOAD" only needs to be called again if one of the communication parameters has to be modified. Each "MB_COMM_LOAD" call deletes the communications buffer. To avoid data loss during communication, you should not call the instruction unnecessarily.

Here you will find a sample program with communication between two S7-1200:
http://www.automation.siemens.com/DK/forum/guests/PostShow.aspx?PostID=163550&language=en

jERA,
Thank you for the information, and yes it is S7 1200 and unfortunately it is TIA V11, I am working on upgrading to version 12.

On MB_MASTER, how do I select addresses for example if the address is 40001, where does it come from? Are there fix addresses for different ports? I am trying to send four analog signals through modbus.

Thanks for your help and is highly appreciated.

0= Coil or user controllable boolean
1= Digital Input or I/O controlled boolean
2= Sequencer reference (not currently in use)
3= 16 bit word input or I/O controlled input word
4= 16 bit word user memory
5= Latch reference (not currently in use)
6= User Data File memory,