Need help with going online.

dragonball

I have issue with going online with Studio 5000.

I tried to open the communication path, but I get this message in Who Active

I can't do anything because the buttons are grayed out.
Please tell me how to solve this issue because I looked up anywhere but I cannot find solution.

readonly.JPG

Hello Dragonball,
I am no expert but I have always used RSLinx classic to connect to an Allen Bradley PLC.
If "FactoryTalk Linx" is the new Studio 5000 replacement for RSLinx Classic (RSLinx Enterprise is for connecting to Panelview Plus HMI's), then if your Processor (CompactLogix or ControlLogix) has an IP address you may find it listed under "Ethernet.AB_ETHIP-1" otherwise you may need to configure one of the other ethernet drivers with the IP Address of your PLC. Alternatively if possible, connect to the processor via USB.
I hope this helps.
Woolie

I’ll try to help you out
A few thing to check
First as a reminder that with all Rockwell PLC’s you need RSlinx to communicate with your PC
While most people run RSLynx as a service when the PC boots up I have found that doesn’t always happen correctly, so I run it as a separate APP and Start / Stop it as needed it also saves computer resources when you don’t need it. You should use the RSLinx Start Panel for this that’s what it’s provided for. If you are connecting with a USB or other device install and configure the device before you run RSLinx then configure RSLinx as needed for that device. If your computer doesn’t see the device then RSLinx will not see it either. Identify the COM port the computer assigns to the device or change if you need to (Computer Manager)
Understand that Ethernet devices Drive needs to have predefined IP address to find the PLC so you need to install the address in the list.
EthernetIP will scan all addresses on the local network and display them in the tree
It can also scan any remote subnet if you set it up to do so.