Need suggestion about lightening protection

mikas_m

Greetings,
I have a problem and hope you'll be able to help me.
I have one measuring circuit including power suppply unit 24V and two-wire transmitter (loop powered). From time to time, because of lightening either power supply unit or transmitter and sometimes even both burn out. Can you suggest me any typ of lightening protection? I don't have experience in this area and I'm interested to see what you would do in similar situations?
Thanks

Thnaks, but can you give me an more details?
I have 24 V DC power supply which powers 2 wire transmitter. Basically I need to protect 4-20 mA loop and devices on it.
I have never used this type of protection before and not really sure how to chose appropriate.
P.S. does this protection element prevent burnout of equipment by acting like fuse or...?

Last edited:
Please take a look at the pictura bellow.

Protection_Analog_equip.gif

Thank you very much for your help guys. Just want to be sure about couple things:

1. For my application which includes transmitter and Power supply unit (220V AC -> 24 VDC) I'll need three surge protection devices according from the picture you pasted above nonuke (for transmitter, power supply and PSU's AC supply), but in this .pdf I see only one. What configuration Since I want to protect transmitter because it's much more expensive comparing with the PSU, I guess I'll need only one. Can you confirm this?

2. What is average cost of these devices?

Thanks

mikas m

what is the instrument measuring? (level, pressure, flow)
what is the instrument connected to? (tank, stand pipe, pipe)
where is the lightning striking?

Hi Mikas m:
The 2 part numbers I posted are only for the protection of the transmitter. One code is for the Support (Base), and the other is for the Element.

Thanks for replies.
Sheldn,
we use transmitter to measure a level of water in a tank.