Personal Project - need suggestion - PID + thermocouple cheap !?

JNTurcotte

Hi Everyone,

While searching on the internet, I found out about this forum.
Looks like a great gang that is really helpful to others. Hopefully, I can help some others here, even if I am far from a plc expert.

But I am requesting your help and suggestion here since I wasn't able to find the answer after multiple hours on the internet.

I am building a herp room (multiple reptile enclosure in a room at my house).
For now, I am using a lot of individual proportional temperature controler.

My project is to use a PLC and possibly an HMI to control them.
Unfortunately, price is quite important here as it's a personal project and I would it to cost less than buying the individual controlers.

So I need to control from 4 to 8 (possibility of adding more) heat elements (heat tapes). Theses heat elements are 120V and will generate up to 120 watts at full power.

I want to control theses individually with PID.

I found out about AutomationDirect 05 and 06 models, but I am worry that they can't have enough PID running at the same time and that the number of thermocouples input cards are low.
The 05 model only have 1 possible io cards and don't have any ethernet cards.

I am looking for a PLC instead of the singles controls that I have, cause I want the temperature to adjust with the days/night and cycle with the seasons. And I would prefer a PID to a proportional elements.
I am also hopping to use the Inputs/Outputs to control other device in the room eventually.

I would like to add an HMI to make modification on the temperatures and testing. But can't seem to find a basic hmi for a reasonable price. Is it possible to have a plc with ethernet communication, and communicate with it throw a web page ?

If anyone could point me to a cheap PLC with PID and thermocouple solution, I would appreciate.
And some cheap HMI solution, it would be even better.

Thank You !

What is total value of the snakes?