New to PLC Programming Please Help

Daniel81

Hello Guys,

I'm new to PLC programming and a course I'm currently studying has asked a question and requested we use a shift register.

The question is to use a single push button to select either 1 sec, 2 sec, 3 sec or 4 sec delay times for a motor to start using a shift register and timers.

I can shift inputs 1's into the B3:0 register but don't understand how to get zero's shifted in by just using one input switch.

I had thought to map the time delays to binary numbers such as
1 sec = 001
2 sec = 010
3 sec = 011
4 sec = 100

But due to my lack of knowledge and experience I cannot generate the zero's I require.

Would it be possible if one of you guys could point me in the right direction and point out what I am missing or doing wrong.

Your help is much appreciated.

Thank you

Daniel

Thanks for the reply Gary,

With the previous reading I have done, it also says that shift registers require the three inputs as you say. As I am using an AB micrologix 1000 PLC it looks as if I only have the provision for one input into the BSL register. Do you have some familiarity with this PLC?
Do I have to use more that one BSL register?

The single input to the BSL instruction is the clock signal. Each time it makes the transition from false to true, the pattern of ones and zeroes over the address range of B3:0/0 to B3:0/15 gets shifted left by one position. That means B3:0/15 takes the value of B3:0/14, B3:0/14 takes the value of B3:0/13, etc. The vacated bit at B3:0/0 gets set to a zero or one based on the state of I:0/0. There is no reset command in the Micrologix BSL instruction.

Thanks Steve,