OT - Heater wire changes if covered?

Secpcb

This is something I figured out that electrically doesn't make sense to me.

An electric blanket with a single heating wire looped through it and a single thermal sensor wire also, I'm guessing a 30 foot long RTD basically.

I am comfortable with the temperature control set at 2-1/2 under normal conditions just to break the chill off the bed. But when my dog jumps on the bed I have to turn it up to 6 or 8 to be the same.

When he lays on the blanket the area under him gets very hot, I'm guessing over 120 degrees and the rest of the blanket gets cold.

The only thing using physics I can think of is the wire being compressed by him changes resistance and uses most of the voltage so the rest of the blanket gets little voltage. Being a single wire this has to create a voltage divider under him.

But not being an electrical engineer I'm still puzzled by this happening. The area under him would have to greatly reduce resistance from being compressed, not stretched to make thinner like a strain link works. And he's not a 600 pound tiger, just a shepard.

Electric blankets aren't supposed to have anything on top of them. The dog is preventing the area he's on from radiating heat away, trapping the heat beneath him and raising he temperature of that area. The blanket's temperature sensor detects the higher temperature and adjusts the control accordingly.

Electric blankets aren't supposed to have anything on top of them. The dog is preventing the area he's on from radiating heat away, trapping the heat beneath him and raising he temperature of that area. The blanket's temperature sensor detects the higher temperature and adjusts the control accordingly.

Moral of the story....

Dogs don't belong on your bed.

:)

Nice.

This is not electrical engineering, btw, or at least not all of it.