PDF Viewer (FoxItReader) in Factorytalk View ME

LoveDoctor

Hello! First time poster, been reading forums ever since I graduated.

I am calling on the PLC gods to hopefully help me through an issue with the built in PDF reader in Factorytalk View - FoxItReader.

I am trying to access a PDF file on the removeable SD on the back of the panelview (Storage Card2) and get an error;

"There was an error opening this document. Sharing Violation!"

After two days of trying and a two hour long phone call with the Rockwell support center I have tried the following:

- Reading off a USB & Reading off a Storage card & Saving to\My Documents on the Panelview

The problem is that when accessing the file (Called M1.pdf) from FoxItReader on the Panelview the pdf opens and is readable!

FoxItReader also launches through the ActiveX control, but cannot launch the PDF for some reason.

Using ActiveX control MEprogramlauncher w literal strings
Program location: "foxitreader.exe"
Program Parameters: "\My Documents\M1.pdf"

Have tried all combinations of slashes etc... Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you very much for the reply.

I have tried without the back slash at the beginning and no dice. When you say no spaces are you referring to the space between Storage & Card or am I missing something.

The Rockwell support had me try everything from:

"Storage Card2\M1.pdf"
"\Storage Card2\M1.pdf"
"Storage Card2/M1.pdf"

and I still can't seem to find a combination that works. Any other suggestions?

I should mention that the version of FTView that I am making the project is in 12 but I am creating the Runtime for a Firmware version of 8, though I can't see how this would affect the system considering I can open the PDF on the windows OS of the Panelview

Last edited:
Your third option is how mine is formatted. Edit: That is the correct path to a PDF saved on the root of a SD card.