PLC State Machines / Sequences

davidd31415

Hi,

I am looking for basic ladder logic to create a PLC state machine or sequence. For starters I'd just like to alternate between different bits being turned one seconds after each other.

For instance, bit one on, delay one second, bit two on, delay one second, bit three on, and so on. Can someone point me to an example ladder logic code which accomplishes this?

Will I need to use a separate timer for each state or can a single timer be used?

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

Homework, eh?

A starting hint will be to use separate timers. Now, give something a try & post what you've completed and you'll get some help without actually giving you the answer. Good luck!

Homework? No. I studied PLCs for about two weeks back in the late 90s while working on my BSEE but it was the manufacturing engineering students who focused on them.

If you'd like to discuss the application feel free to send me a PM and I'll respond with my phone number. I'll buy you lunch if you're ever out in the Troy area. I might have some future work for you to, if you're looking.

Meanwhile, if this forum does not assist with simple questions then hopefully this thread can be deleted. I'd hate for anyone, student or professional alike, to search the internet, find this thread, and then read your response.

AutomationDirect provides for some of its lines a helpful add-on to the Relay Ladder Logic called Stage Programming. They have a demo version of their software (DirectSoft - limited to a fairly small 100 steps). I use Stage Programming for our machines to control specific processing steps.

Homework? No. I studied PLCs for about two weeks back in the late 90s while working on my BSEE but it was the manufacturing engineering students who focused on them.