Programming Advice

dwoodlock

Lifetime Supporting Member
So I have been working on a project for the past couple months. we bought 2 machines, and basically I was to interface the two. One Is simply a feeder for the main machine. No issues here.

Later they decided that I was to add vision to the main wash machine. I am relatively new to programming, and actually still finishing my last few classes of tech school. The main machine has a slc-5/04 which is fine because nearly all tech schools teach based on AB.

So to the programming, I have 2 cameras inspecting for vision, and I am trying to keep track of the inspection results for 5 index cycles down the belt until it reaches my gripper assembly. Each Index moves 6 parts, at varying speed, and when it has moved 5 indexes I have mounted a 6 gripper assembly, and based on inspection results it can remove any number of parts between 0 and 6 during the length of time the belt dwells.

My issue at this point is inspection result tracking. I have used a BSL instruction, and I am triggering the instruction based off each camera having completed and evaluation, and the evaluation result is what im using for the bit address.

problem im encountering is, if the camera trigger is not activated because a part is not there, no evaluation is completed, so therefore there is no shift.

My first idea to get around this issue is, I branched around the evaluation completes that are primarily initiating the shift, and I added a sensor thats shooting a beam through the belt holes, and then put a timer in front of it that is enabled by the inverted trigger input, so that if the trigger is not pulsed for whatever the preset is, the /DN bit is set and it enables the shift to be initiated by the belt hole sensor since there is no part there to trigger a snapshot therefore leading to an evaluation.

Hopefully this is clear enough, if not I can post the program later.