pulse train output

ecampos

There is a machine in my plant with an obsolete Omron PLC in it that I need to replace. One of the outputs from this PLC is to a stepper motor drive, I will need to replicate this function in the new controller. I have no experience with stepper motors or drives and I seem to have hit a dead end in my research. I have a feeling that I am not searching for the right terms here, so any direction would be appreciated. Here is the description from the stepper drive manual for the function in question:

Step Clock Input - A positive going edge on this input advances the motor one increment. The size of the increment is dependent upon the settings of the resolution select switch SW1.
The instruction in the Omron program that I believe is writing to this output is @PLS2(887).

So I believe that this must be outputting a train of pulses to the stepper drive so that it knows how far to run the motor. I was expecting to find a required pulse frequency in the drive manual, but there doesn't appear to be one. Is this something that is common amongst stepper drives and therefore not included in this manual, or should I try to reach out to the drive manufacturer for more detailed information?

I don't have much experience with Omron PLCs so I am hoping to replace this one with either an Allen Bradley product, or an Automation Direct P2000.

I am sure there must be a direct equivalent for this @PLS2(887) instruction in the AB or AD world, can anyone tell me what it's called!? I have searched for pulse output, high speed output, pulse train, etc and I am coming up short. I did find that there is a PTO instruction for some of the MicroLogix controllers that seems to be what I am looking for, but I can't find anything like that in the Logix5000 or P2000 instruction sets.