PZE X4P Safety Relay Y1 & Y2 Confusion

Robatics1278

Hello, all, I am new here and pretty new to PLC'S. Closest thing I have to PLC experience is with avionics. At my new job I am a welding engineer primarily in control of four Motoman MIG welding robots.

Anyway, the company bought a used Motoman NX100 and it arrived about a month ago. There has been a ton of wiring issues I've spent the last few weeks correcting. This last one is stumping me.

So the robot didn't come with light curtains so I ordered a set off eBay. They are 1000mm SICK 4000's. I hooked them up and get a flashing error on the curtain saying L2. Okay, L2 is an error code for invalid configuration of EDM. I look in the SICK manual and it says:

If you connect the contact elements to be monitored to the EDM input, then you must activate the option EDM in the CDS (Configuration & Diagnostic Software. If not, the device will show the error L2.

If you later deselect the EDM option, pin 6 of the system plug must not remain connected to 24 V.

I believe our light curtains do not have the EDM enabled and that is why I was getting error L2. Wire 6 on the light curtain was hooked to the Safety relay Y2. I removed wire 6 from the relay and the curtains started working.

Now the problem is that when we try to flip the positioner we get an external e stop error. It sounds stupid but if we shake the relay it goes away and lets us flip. Doing some reading here I see that Y1 / Y2 are for a reset button. I am thinking that the Motoman control or light curtains are looking for a handshake that each other is working?? Odd thing is I can look at the Input for light curtain clear while this e stop error is active and it is saying they are clear.

Also while this e stop error is active both channel lights are on, on the relay.

I tried to put a jumper in between Y1 & Y2 but no luck.

Am I right in thinking I need to fool the relay or control into thinking the EDM is working or what?