Question for the math professors ...

daba

Lifetime Supporting Member
... I followed a link dealing with Permutations and Combinations, and learnt a (to me) startling fact !

0 * 0 = 0 agreed ?

0 * 0 * 0 = 0 agreed again ?

so how does 0! = 1 ?

This has got me confused, perplexed, bamboozled, and a few other cliches.....

How can 0 * anything else not be zero ??

I looked it up. I'm not sure its deeper but it is a better definition.

Evaluate the expression 1.5!

The factorial is the product of all positive integers less than or equal to n.
The formula for a factorial is:
n! = n x (n - 1) x (n - 2) x ... x 2 x 1

Evaluate the expression 1.5!
Factorial Expansions are as follows:
1.5! = 1.5 x 0.5 = 0.75

Now multiply out our factorial expansions:
1.5! = 0.75

Edit: I still don't get the 0!=1 ,but I'm not a professor or a Doctor.

Last edited:
The factorial function is actually a continuous function. You can find the factor of real numbers too. Th function starts is not continuous for negative numbers.

n! = integrate(x^n*exp(-x),0,inf)
n is the integral of x^n*exp(-x) as x goes from 0 to infinity

1.5! = 1.329.
0.5! = 0.886
https://deltamotion.com/peter/Mathcad/Mathcad - factorial.pdf
Notice that is gets the answers you expect for all the integers including 0! = 1.

Not to provide an alternate reason to the math PeterN mentions, but I have a vague memory that when 0! is defined as one, then the binomial coefficients* can be calculated via the formula

a2457a7ef3c77831e34e06a1fe17a80b84a03181

i.e. neither denominator term will be zero when k=0 or k=n.

* see also Pascal's Triangle

The general formula of factorial can be written in fully expanded form as
n! = n·(n-1)·(n-2)·...·3·2·1
or in partially expanded form as
n! = n · (n-1)!
We know with absolute certainty that 1!=1, where n = 1. If we substitute that value of n into the second formula which is the partially expanded form of n!, we obtain the following:
n!=n×(n-1)!
1!=1×(1-1)!
1!=1×0!