Ramping PWM pin on Micro 820

Hi All,

I came up with this for ramping the PWM pin on the micro 820. I'm new to ladder logic so I am not sure if this will even work? Once xmotoron is set high, it should pulse pin 6 as long as neither home/end prox are triggered in tandem with the direction. Every time I trigger xmotoron, it should go through the accel loop until xaxisspeedmax is reached?

Thanks for any input!

https://1drv.ms/i/s!AmGu4mSmjSxdgppQqs7BPwx9yN5-hw?e=uUFIHB

Regards,
DI

I have no idea about an 820, never used one but on Mitsubishi the PWM instruction only works on transistor outputs, assuming your plc has transistor outputs then it should work, not sure if the pwm instruction does interrupts (would be needed for fast pulses) if not then it would probably only respond correctly to pulses slower than the scan time & of course the time to switch the output on/off.

1) Your code will not work

1.2) it has multiple destructive writes to Boolean accelmotor, which is usually a mistake.

1.2.2) Rung 3 will write a 0 to accelmotor on the scan cycle immediately after it writes the 1 to when xmotron is 1 (button pressed?). So the timer on Rung 4 will never expire.

1.2.3) the xaxisspeed increment is before the timer, so even if Rung 4 executed for multiple scan cycles, it would increment xaxisspeed on every scan cycle instead of at 1ms intervals.

1.2.3) There is no more than one rising edge to the CTU to increment its value, and it is not tied to xaxisspeed, so even accelmotor was 1 for more than one consecutive scan cycle, the CTU would never complete.

2) The ENO of the PWM instruction is not the PWM output, so everything to the right of the PWM instruction on Rung 2 is not going to work.

2.1) The PWM controls _IO_EM_DO_06 directly; the program does not need a Coil to write to it.

2.1) See this youtube by @Tim Wilborne for handling the prox and direction inputs.