Realtime measurements purpose

smk

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to PLCs and currently engaged in an R&D project involving multiple sensors for measuring torque, RPM, and other parameters. The project entails around 30 channels, and the ultimate goal is to create a comprehensive system with a database and HMI for monitoring various values in real-time. The critical aspect of this project is achieving precise synchronization among the sensors as we intend to multiply different time series (channels), and any slight mismatch could result in significant errors.

Given these requirements, I would greatly appreciate any suggestions on the optimal selection of hardware, automation tools, communication protocols, database systems, and HMI solutions.
and -> I also winna have tiny comparison... Twin CAT vs Step 7

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Synchronization is about time. PLC programming and control is primarily about time.

Depending on the manufacturer and model, PLCs typically scan I/O and operate on a scale of 100ms to 102ms.

What is the timescale of the required process' synchronization?

Anyone here that knows me knows I'm a Beckhoff guy through-and-through. The project requirements that you have are just a few, of many, reasons why. So you need a real-time bus and you also need precision time-synchronized process data, synchronized perhaps down to <= 100nS, means you need EtherCAT and the 'distributed clocks" mechanism it provides out-of-the-box. You absolutely need that for your application!