Rounding off value after division

Cundalini

Hi all,Is anyone able to help me with a method for rounding off a value following a division instruction. I am using Siemens S7 and plan to display the resulting value on an OP7 panel. Cheers Cundlaini.

Here's one way

If it's a Decimal value you could move it into a INT or DINT or some other data then move it back.... Would need some more info on what type of number you are trying to round and to what?

IE: 1.5 = 2, 44 = 50, 8 = 10, etc...

I've never used the Siemans before but here is another way if it's an INT based number (no decimal) if you have the command available.

You could Divide the Number using a Modulo Style Command from the AB World where the following happens

111 / 10 = 1

The Ab command gives you the decimal portion of the Division.. then you would compare it to being Greater then or equal to 5 and round up etc...

Thanks for the reply wnkook.

Here's what I am trying to do.
I have a decimal value in a DB Word, say DBW1 and a decimal value in DBW5. I would like make a calculation to display DBW5 as a percentage of DBW1 and load this into another word, so I can display it on an OP7 user panel.
It is better for the user if the display is an integer, so I would like to round down after the calculation.

I am not very familiar with AB, and as far as I know S7 has nothing like the "Modulo Style command" you mentioned.

Thanks, Cundalini

You have Step 7 software, right? If so, there is everything you need to know in the help files. Just do a search on "remainder" and "divide".

When you divide two integers, the result is already rounded. If you only want the remainder, then there is the MOD instruction, but I think you just need a rounded value.

Cundalini,

To Clarify you would have a result of 4.567% and you want to round this down to 4%.

Now normally if we move the above number directly to an Integer the item is rounded up.

ok so here is what we could try,