RS500 Program convert to RS5000?

Simple answer YES. There's a PLC5/SLC500 translate tool built into RSLogix 5000.

Now - how well do you want it to work? It does a straight conversion. It does NOT take advantage of the ControlLogix memory structure, and there are specific items that don't convert nicely. However, it does ~kinda~ work...

IMO -- If you're doing the conversion, you're often best served by actually rewriting the program.

I'm working with a translation from PLC5 to RSlogix5000 and so far it's working well BUT:

The messages, let's say BTW or BTR make some trouble with the version 17, so i had to translated to v16 and the to 17.(it's supouse that in v18, that problem will be gone. It's seems that they made some adjustments that affect the translation tool)
and you need to fix some status register that they are not the same on RSlogix5000. There is a document that could help you thru that, try looking for "PLC5 RSLogix translation tool".

I'm not an expert but that's my experience.

edit---
here is the document
http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/rm/1756-rm085_-en-p.pdfhttp://rockwellautomation.custhelp....msg-configuration-incomplete-because-no-local
and here is the problem about de the msg
http://rockwellautomation.custhelp....msg-configuration-incomplete-because-no-local

Last edited:
Hi,

I have converted RS500 program to RS5000 (CompactLogic). But I am getting error at following address.

N[N192_7][0]

How to use this type of indirect addressing in RS5000?
Please guide me.

Thanks,
Shailesh

Last edited:
Hi,

I have converted RS500 program to RS5000 (CompactLogic). But I am getting error at following address.

N[N192_7][0]

How to use this type of indirect addressing in RS5000?
Please guide me.

Thanks,
Shailesh

You should start your own thread with this issue, it will be seen by more people.

But here's my opinion...