RSView32 momentary button delay

blewis

I'm new to this ecellent forum, and a little dated in my PLC knowledge.
Those familiar with the AB Panelviews know that when you place a momentary button, you can set the duration of this momentary pulse when the button is pressed. I typically set it at 0.2 sec which insured adequate time for the latch signal from the motor starter to latch my run signal in the PLC code.
I have a situation in RSView32 where I do not have this duration setting, and the operators are pressing and releasing the button before the PLC code picks up a run signal (via Intellicenters and devicenet) to latch it in. I hate to modify all of these rungs to use latches, unlatches, and timers to solve the problem. Is there a simpler way folks have used?
thanks in advance..

Don't latch it with device feedback. Latch it in with the run command, but you will still have to go back and add timers and fault detection logic for Run_Asserted and Starter_Aux_Open.

No real easy way, but perhaps you could make a subroutine/function block/AOI to reduce the pain

Set the bit ON in the HMI, then reset the bit at the end of the PLC scan.

I used this before in this type of situation, where the comms are slow.

This should not required too much extra work, and no timers at all. The existing logic can remain, with only the addition of the unlatch/reset/clear at the end of the program scan.

This should work with devicenet, not sure about the intellicenters though, how are they interfaced with the PLC?