s7-200 com setup

kevin91172

Hello,
I am new to the Siemens world and just got a S7-200.I have a lap top with only 3 USB ports COM 3,4,6 and using a RS232/PPI Multmaster cable. I have all the switches set to o,remote address o,Baud rate 19.2,access path=PC/PPI cable, local connation com4.I get an error:Communicationtime-out.Check the port number, network address,buad rate, and the attached cable. What do have wrong? One error came up during this adventure is I needed a RS232/USB cable. Is this correct. I have an USB adapter the works with my PanelMate ,c-more,ez tuoch,directlogic32.

It may be the USB-232 convertor, there are problems sometimes using them with an AB PIC. I have an USB PPI and have had no problems with comms at all.

Sorry i couldnt be more help, maybe someone else will chip in!

kevin91172 said:
Hello,
I am new to the Siemens world and just got a S7-200.I have a lap top with only 3 USB ports COM 3,4,6 and using a RS232/PPI Multmaster cable. I have all the switches set to o,remote address o,Baud rate 19.2,access path=PC/PPI cable, local connation com4.I get an error:Communicationtime-out.Check the port number, network address,buad rate, and the attached cable. What do have wrong? One error came up during this adventure is I needed a RS232/USB cable. Is this correct. I have an USB adapter the works with my PanelMate ,c-more,ez tuoch,directlogic32.
I have used a PCMCIA serial card.
Your old cable will work just fine with that. Not sure if your laptop has a PCMCIA slot or an express slot. If you have an express slot, you are running out of options. You can look for a compatible USB to serial adaptor.
The best thing to do is get the USB/PPI cable if you will be working with the S7-200 series, less headaches.