SEW Motor German Nameplate..

Rippey574

I have a German nameplate for a sew dc motor..
Can some one translate this for me?

I have little DC motor experience to. I can not tell if this a series or shunt winding. I can tell you there are only 4 wires in the box, but sew was kind enough to just use a 3 phase terminals and stamped box so it gives no valuable information.

I suspect this motor to have failed, I am trying to confirm it and get a modern replacement ordered, but I am lacking the details, and the equipment is from 1989...yay

sew.jpg

Va = voltage on armature
Aa = amps on armature, at full load, full speed,
Vf = voltage on field
Af = amps on field, at full field
r/min = base(full) speed (RPM)
Vb = NO CLUE

It is shunt wound...the four wires you have are A1-A2-F1-F2
A1-A2 should be low resistance, 0.1 to 4.0
F1-F2 should be higher resistance, 20 - 300

Thank you for the quick reply. I used the drive to energize the field, and I found on the armature has a near perfect half voltage of the field, regardless of which leg I probe and which field wire I reference. If I also connect the armature and apply power it will blow the fuse instantly.

I did have to repair the old drive, the diodes for the field had half failed. I suspect one or the other is the cause and effect.

Thank you for the quick reply. I used the drive to energize the field, and I found on the armature has a near perfect half voltage of the field, regardless of which leg I probe and which field wire I reference. If I also connect the armature and apply power it will blow the fuse instantly.

I did have to repair the old drive, the diodes for the field had half failed. I suspect one or the other is the cause and effect.

You might want to Google "FIELD LOSS" and "CEMF" prior to 'experimenting' with a live motor.

You might want to Google "FIELD LOSS" and "CEMF" prior to 'experimenting' with a live motor.