slick 500 training

g.robert

Lifetime Supporting Member
Can anyone recommend where a novice in PLC training can get specific info programming an AB SLK500? My background is relay logic / motor controls(20 years+) using ladder diagrams. Right now I work alot with Moeller smart relays. They are programmed in a ladder logic format via PC that is very easy for me to understand. Is there a way to program SLK 500 in a ladder format? Can I download a simulator to train on that would match actual SLK 500 program screen / software?

You can download the software for free from the Micrologix Page of Rockwell's site. Between using the real software, and the instruction help in the Help file, you can learn lots for free.

Thanks. I went to rockwells sight but I'm not sure I got to where I needed to be. I did download some self executing demos on rslogics. Could you give me the link that would take me directly to the download I need?

g.robert said:
Thanks. I went to rockwells sight but I'm not sure I got to where I needed to be. I did download some self executing demos on rslogics. Could you give me the link that would take me directly to the download I need?

Click Here

I can't link you directly because you have to join up and sign in to download it, but click on the right hand side of the screen where it says RSLogix 500 Starter Software for Micrologix 10 Point Controllers, and go from there.

Thanks for the help guys. The software from logix pro is great! Is this exactly what the actual rslogix 500 software looks like? I assume it is as it is used for training. I am having no problems generating functional programs with my existing ladder logic knowledge. Do you have the ability to simulate inputs and view output results in the software of the rslogix 500 to test functionality stand alone? Some of the info I am getting is that you cannot. If this is correct the prologix simulator software seems like it would be of great value even if you had rslogix 500. What do you think?