Speed control for PowerFlex 4M using analog Outputs Card

Michael83

Hi All!!!

It's my first post on this forum so be a patient,please.
I'm writing program using RS Logic 5000 and I need have a variable speed control for 3 inverters(one switch on HMI to set up the frequency).
Because I'm using PowerFlex 4M inverters they are without Ethernet,so to control the speed from the PLC(hmi) I need analog card add to the PLC
but I have never used before analog card so I don't know how do I have to start the calculations(0-10V).

If anyone have idea how do I have to start?
Many thanks
Michael

This video is educational for scaling analog numbers in a CLX PLC.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWe244o4uwk

I am new to "RsLogix 5000" analog and have designed a few practice programs with Alma's, compare and other statements feeding 4-20 in with my Fluke to practice programs controlling outputs, but not yet in position to advise.

Good Luck

Last edited:
You might want to double check the drive. The PowerFlex 4's that we use all come with ethernet. You would have to configure the IP address, and I would strongly suggest you limit the amount of data you send from the drive. We have crashed networks due to too much info flowing from drives. If you do in fact have to use an analog card, it is pretty easy in Logix5000. Just holler if you need more help.

Will.

First and foremost, you need to be aware of how your circuits are going to behave. You can't mix dc sources. This is incredibly important to avoid damaging components, if you are unsure ask for clarification.

Next, you need to look up tutorials on the scp instruction in rs logix. Sorry I'm on my phone now, but YouTube scp and I'll check back later to see if you need more help.

If you add the Ethernet couldn't you just add the drive to your RSL5K project and control it via Ethernet/IP and forget about the Modbus stuff?

Thanks you all,for your reply.!

After reading all your useful advices I get embarrassed.