Split ethernet networks

marvis

Hello everyone.

I have an PLC L35 (fmw 16) with address 192.168.1.1 and too many connected ethernet devices (3 hmi, a lot of ethernet port, asi slot, devicenet and 4 supervisors, etc..) and I need to create a different network for the supervisors, example 192.168. 2.xxx. so as not weigh down the network which starts to have communication problems and stop the line.

What solution can I adopt? Change plc? Which? Stratix?
Other solutions?

Thank you.

Never use the same IP address that every WalMart router comes with out of the box (192.168.1.1) for anything on a controls network. Always try to segregate HMI and PC Ethernet traffic from control related Ethernet traffic. If your CPU only has one Ethernet port, then everything that needs to connect to it must use that port, but if there is Ethernet/IP IO on that port, you'll want a managed switch to keep from peppering everything on that network with IO traffic.

I am not an expert in this area, and we probably need more details about all of your devices that need to connect with your PLC in order to give more specific advice.

What problems are you seeing that has lead to the conclusion that network communication problems are causing downtime?
What diagnostic tools have been used, and what were the results?
What are the network switch, or switches, makes and models used? Are they managed or unmanaged switches, or a mix of both?

The maximum number of nodes that can be connected on a single 192.168.1.xxx 255.255.255.0 network is 254 ( 256 - Network & Broadcast addresses)
However, I would not suggest anywhere near that number of nodes were put on a single network.
What is the node count of your network?

There could be a problem with the current network design that might be simple to resolve.

It is possible to segregate the existing network and create separate Automation and Supervisory networks.
It will require managed network hardware with Layer 3 Routing capability and VLANS.