Suggestion on Plc career and possibly changing major.

fredz0003

Hi everyone I have read lots of post about career advice, although I'm on a different boat, I am a navy vet learned my trade in electrical/electronics in the navy. Now I am going to a community college for computer science in programming, but I would like to get into designing Plc systems in the future I am wondering if I should change my major to electrical engineering or keep my programming degree and learn Plc on the side. Here at work we really dont troubleshoot plcs because the designers connect online from another state. We have a compactlogix training station, and all the Rockwell software rslogix5000, factoryview talk etc but I don't really know how to start or better yet what are some real scenario exercises that I could do on our training Plc, I believe we have hmis on inventory too. I have logixpro but I think is missing a lot of the real stuff. I thought about buying a micrologix and a cheap washer machine and writing the ladder.

Thanks for your advise.

I would like to get into designing Plc systems in the future I am wondering if I should change my major to electrical engineering or keep my programming degree and learn Plc on the side.
You would potentially do more PLC programming with an electrical engineering degree than with a computer programming degree. The college I went to had an EE degree with senior-year options of Power, Electronics, Fields, and Computer Design (which included a lot of programming classes).

However, I think now in many cases, the majority of PLC programmers are more likely to have a 2-year Engineering Technician degree or something like that, working under a Electrical Design Engineer.