Total beginner, Crimson 3.0 Questions

You could assign your PLC "System OK" bit to a tag, and use that tag in the Enable field of the button properties. This would prevent the user from operating the button unless the bit was on.

You could assign your PLC "System OK" bit to a tag, and use that tag in the Enable field of the button properties. This would prevent the user from operating the button unless the bit was on.

Ha, geez, I thought I had it all figured out on my drive home but that's a heck of a lot easier. I was going to say I could use an if then statement again to say if System OK is off, always write 0, and if System OK is on, then write the opposite of current state. I guess it's exactly the same but using the Enable field is much simpler!

Now, if that button is protected by System OK in the Enable field, is it completely redundant to have it in the PLC logic as well? I'm going to leave it anyway for troubleshooting purposes, but are they essentially doing the exact same thing?

Now, if that button is protected by System OK in the Enable field, is it completely redundant to have it in the PLC logic as well? I'm going to leave it anyway for troubleshooting purposes, but are they essentially doing the exact same thing?
There are times when I will create duplicate logic in the HMI and PLC, just to make sure it executes in the event of a comm fail or something. In your case, however, it might not be a good idea since you are using toggle style buttons. Like we've both said, I don't how the HMI will respond if the PLC starts overriding the bits. You could easily do a test to find out.