Trade Rags (magazines) revisited

kolyur

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Just flipped open to the first column of a control engineering-type magazine that showed up in my inbox today (name withheld). Here's how it starts:
When it comes to designing and integrating industrial machines--or any machine at all--I'm not an expert. To me, a motor is something noisy that makes a machine run. I honestly don't know how it works or what the difference is between one motor and another. All I know is that if they are working properly the machine probably will get the job done.
Seriously? These are the kind of columnists they feel are qualified to write for a trade publication? What self-respecting industry professional would continue reading after an intro like that?

I know these trade mags are geared toward management types, I guess my bigger frustration is wishing there was a magazine written for the people actually DOING the design/engineering/wiring/programming/troubleshooting of these systems. Something with a little more detail, in other words, MEAT. I might actually pay for such a publication.

One of my hobbies outside the electronics world is home repair and remodeling. I'm an amateur for sure but I try my best to do professional-level work. I enjoy reading magazines such as Fine Homebuilding and Journal of Light Construction, which provide a great level of detail about various construction tasks. Why not something like this for the PLC world?

I have a woodshop in my home - furniture making is a part time hobby, I find it to be relaxing. So I subscribe to a couple of woodworking related magazines. The general quality of the two that I subscribe to is considerably higher than the trade rags - but then they aren't offered for free, I have to pay for them. If they didn't offer useful plans, techniques, and articles then readers would not pay for them.