Troubleshooting tomorrow: Mitsubishi SEPLC AX2n-64MR, RTC Check

AutomationTechBrian

Lifetime Supporting Member
I was troubleshooting a customer's machine today, and I came across a couple of questions that I need your thoughts on.

1. At the end of the day, we came across an HMI screen that points to an "RTC Check" problem. I looked through the machine's manual to try to figure out what "RTC" stood for. Having a BIOS Check in the same list made me believe it referred to the only thing the HMI was connected... the Mitsubishi PLC (that has a different brand name). It wasn't anywhere in the manual, and it didn't occur to me what it was until I was driving home.... "Real Time Clock" I now presume.

2. I have very little experience with Mitsubishi PLCs, however I do have GX Works 3 on my laptop. I'm not sure why the Mitsubishi part number is on the PLC, but a different brand name, "Shihlin Electric" is on the PLC. After creating this post, I'll start looking for answers about that question, as well as the correct communication cable, in hopes that I'll have what is needed to connect tomorrow.

If you have any thoughts on either of these two questions, let me know. I'll put one picture in this post, and one in another post so they show up without opening the files.

BarFeederHMI.png

If something can cause a clock to lose the correct time, it is that the battery is exhausted.

Change the PLC battery