Two Siemens multipanel on one Profibus network

AlecTek

We would like to have two MP377 on one Profibus network, but I remember that MP377 are masters probably they cannot work together. But I googled and I found someone did this before. Is here someone can explain to me how to configure the system?

Additional info, the system will be as below,

MP377 (WinCC flexible) + MP377 (WinCC Flexible + WinAC MP) + ET200S + Drives

Thanks

Last edited:
I have no experience with the WinAC MP product (never knew it existed and now it's being discontinued) but so long as it makes its interfaces available externally to the MP377 then you should be able to able to connect to it.

If posible, I would use ethernet rather than profibus to connect the two. Profibus masters pass a token between themselves and are only permitted to query a slave when they are in posession of the token. Adding more masters will slow down your entire profibus network and may affect machine performance.

Nick

I agree that it will be the best to connect the MP377 that is a HMI only to the MP377/WinAC via Ethernet.

A multi-master DP system with a mixture of I/O and HMIs will be a factor 10 slower than a mono-master DP network with only I/O.

edit: Setup a STEP7 project that includes everything in one project. When setting up the MP377 that is HMI only, do NOT connect it to the DP network even if you think it is better to do so 'just in case'. If the DP bus has two DP masters connected, then you have created a multi-master DP bus. It does not matter that you dont really use the DP connection on the 2nd MP377.

Last edited: