Upload program from S7-1500

CharlieMops

Hello,

I´m complete beginner so sorry if my question is stupid.

I want to upload the program from the PLC to my computer. I have S7-1500 in my CPU cabinet and it is connected through ET 200S to another cabinet where all the modules are.

I tried to upload the program like in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKaahkmsMz4.

But when it recognises the CPU it doesn´t add anythind else to the rack. When I go online i can see the program with a lot of errors and I can´t see any other hardware in TIA Portal except for the CPU.

Do I need to manualy add ET200 S and then upload from it? I am really worried to mess up the program so I´m scared to experiment.

Thank you

I have never used the 1500, all mine have been 400 the older stuff, however, on most PLC's you should be able to upload the configuration from the processor. I'm sure that is where the configuration is, however, as I have never used that module this is a bit of a guess, I assume when it was originally programmed that the configuration for the ET & I/O is done in the project and downloaded to the PLC, the PLC then transfers it to the ET200. so I assume the hardware configuration can be uploaded from the PLC.
I'm sure if I'm wrong someone here will put you right.

Do I need to manualy add ET200 S and then upload from it?
No you do not... unless they are ET200S CPUs, and not remote I/O.

Which version of TIA Portal do you have? Go to Help -> Installed Software... menu in TIA Portal.

It could be that your software version does not match the one in the CPU.

In the project tree, under the CPU, there should be something called "Online & Diagnostics". Double-click it and you should see something like the image below, which will tell you the version of TIA Portal used to download to the CPU:

TIA Portal Version Online.PNG

No you do not... unless they are ET200S CPUs, and not remote I/O.