VB6 to SLC500 Question

ceilingwalker

Lifetime Supporting Member
Good day all. I have a SLC500 that is controlling an air flow rig. The HMI is a PC using a home-made program using VB6. I have no experience with Visual Basic, neither does anyone else here. I have been tasked with purchasing a new HMI for GUI and SCADA to replace it. I would like to know if someone familiar with VB might be able to help me locate the addresses for the tags that are used. The RSLogix 500 program at the PC does not have descriptions, tag names, nothing. It is a relatively small system so the I/O is easy enough to figure out however, the recipe info is coming from MSACCESS database, and communication between PC and PLC is via RSLinx DDE, serial connection. Thank you

Hello,

The file you attached is the project file. There will be more files that contain the information you are seeking.

You can open the file with notebook, then you can find out there is nothing about the tags. You can see a lot of .frm in this text file, then find the .frm files and look up the tags info.

Hello,

Well you got the project file from some directory. There are more files.

The path is "\\srvfile\share\Brent McCabe\Bench7-9\." It looks like about 50 files.

Zip all the files and post it.

You can open the file with notebook, then you can find out there is nothing about the tags. You can see a lot of .frm in this text file, then find the .frm files and look up the tags info.
Yes, I tried this already and all I found was what you said.

Have you checked to see if you have a copy of the PLC program with comments? It may be a lot easier to find out what data you need from the PLC code. Also, if the old HMI is working and the process allows it, make minor changes to the values and then look in the SLCs datatables and find the value that matches.