Weight Feeder Concept

Frozzxx

I'm just starting to learn about industrial automation processes, I want to know how a weight feeder unit works which consists of a load cell and speed sensor connected to a PLC that can control the VFD to regulate motor speed. is there a calculation that is done to find out how the calculation results of the load cell signal with the speed sensor signal will be used to control the VFD? thank you.

I don't see why a motor speed signal would be required or even useful.
I assume you refer to an auger-type feeding system, dry bulk solids?
I have designed bulk solids dosing systems based on a knife gate, no auger, so also no speed signal available at all, and also there is no consistent flow rate because it depends on how much product is in the hopper, granule size, coefficient of friction of the granules, and bulk density of the product. I originally tried to base my algorithm on the Beverloo equation but that was more trouble than it was worth and didn't work well. It required prior knowledge of, and inputting parameters of the product to be dispense. Dumbing it way down was the ticket to success running any product, without having to know anything about its properties beforehand. The way it works is:
1. Start opening the valve rapidly and keep opening until 1/3 target weight reached. Then dwell at current position until 50% target weight.
2. Capture current position and start closing the valve with quasi-logarithmic relationship between valve position and difference between current weight and target weight, such that it tapers off to just dribble at around 96% and dwell at current position until 100% target weight.
3. Close the valve.

In the system I just described, there is only one feedback: weight.
(Technically valve position is also available as feedback but it isn't used for anything but position control in a separate controller).
So I don't see where or why auger motor speed enters the equation.