Weight Rate of Change Calcuations

Hello,

I'm trying to take input from a group of load cells and compute throughput (i.e. tons/hour, kg/hour, etc.). Currently the load cells are wired in to a common load cell transmitter that then outputs the current weight on a 4-20mA scale to the PLC. The transmitter itself is pretty bare-bones and is not capable of rate of change calculation.

I'd like to manipulate this signal to approximate throughput. Before I start trying to reinvent the wheel, I wanted to see if there was an existing solution to this issue. I'm using Studio5000 and I see that there's a built in TOT block, however this seems to do the opposite of what I'm trying to accomplish. If I understand correctly, TOT integrates a rate to come up with a total for a given period of interest. I believe I need to differentiate in my case.

Major beginner here so any help is appreciated. Thanks for your time!

DanW is correct. Just take a sample now, and another in x time. Then extrapolate a rate per, hour, etc. You will have to base your time between samples to match your process.

I have done this for velocity and temperature by calculating instantaneous rates of change. Using a timer preset to determine the measurement derivative and writing a sample position at time = 0 and when the time is finished calculate the following.
rError := ABS(rPositionSample - rPosition);
IPM := rError / ((Timer.PRE/1000)/60);

With a slow moving feedback the time derivative needs to be longer. Otherwise you'll be jumping all over the place. That is when you use an exponential moving average. I have not implemented this and is on my to do list. But my reference is as follows.
EMA := alpha * Yt + (1.0-alpha) * St1;
If you are able to implement this I would like to know what you think of the results.

You didn't mention why you want a rate-of-level change, so I"ll pontificate on why it doesn't work for tiny leak detection.