Wonderware/Intouch & ControlLogix L73/RSLogix500 Interaction

Sorry for these basic questions. I'm a traditional structured text programmer who's been asked to take over the PLC and HMI coding here and I'm not familiar with the idiosyncrasies of these platforms.

1.) Of course, the Wonderware/Intouch (version 10) app writes to a button tag to change the Operating Mode, but I cannot find the full path to this tag in the InTouch app. I'm expecting to see something like I see in the PI definition [PLC20F]:OP_MODE, but all I can find is an "Access Name" for "PLC20F" which specifies a "Topic Name" of "RSLINX_PLC20F". Where's the connection made to the "OP_MODE" tag? Is that only in RSLINX (to maintain separation of church and state)?

2.) If Wonderware AND the PLC are *both* writing to this same "OP_MODE" tag, how do I know in the logic if Wonderware has modified the "OP_MODE" value in the middle of a scan (or can this not happen)? And if I want to detect when the Operator changes the mode (because the logic can also change it due to failures), then - since this thing is constantly scanning, I have to add logic to trap that out?

Wish these things were more event-driven, as in: press button on HMI, get entrance to a registered thread in PLC logic (instead of scanning everything all the time).

Or am I misunderstanding these things ...???

You're probably misunderstanding some things, it's common in this situation.

The path to the specific address in the PLC is in the tagname dictionary. That is where both the access name and the PLC address are defined for each Wonderware tagname. The Access Name defines the network path to the PLC.

The PLC code responds to a change in the tag from Wonderware(WW). What is usually done is that WW writes to a tag to request a mode change. The PLC evaluates that request and changes the actual mode if it is appropriate. The actual mode is usually a different tag. If your PLC is writing the same tag that WW is, then you may have problems.