You wouldn't believe it!

Sliver

Ok, I'm using an old marketing trick to get your attention but I need your feedback and a means to vent.
As a few of you who have seen my previous posts may know I work in a 90% Modicon environment.
I have been using MODSOFT for 16 years since the P-190 'portable' programmer crapped out. Most Modicon users know that MODSOFT has been long discontinued and not supported by Schneider (Modicon). Windows versions after Win98 do not support access to the com port in DOS programs.
I have been lobbying hard and long to upgrade to Proworx (NXT,32). My "Lead Hand" tried to renew the software liscence fo MODSOFT a few years back and instead recieved Proworx32. It went in the drawer for 2 years.
I lobbied for a year to get it out of the drawer and start using it,get some training, get into the 21st century.
We got training on Proworx32 ver1. It had some problems. Good reason(excuse) to do nothing.
I kept lobbying especially when the crew here informed me that Ver2 was out and was less 'buggy'.
Another year went by and we got the training.

Last year I was asked to upgrade the logic on a remote stacker that is powered by a 984-680. The old logic was so convoluted and poorly documented that I decided early on that my best tactic would be to import the MODSOFT configuration into PW32 and start from scratch on logic and docs.
Yesterday I finished an Alpha version and installed it on the machine and it is working away as we speak. Needs some more shake down testing but its miles ahead already of the old logic.

I have been keeping my supervisor aware of the progress and since the rest of the guys have had PW32 training but virtually no real world experince I thought that a transistion plan could work thus.
Document the heck out of the program in PW32 and print two hardcopies. (office/field)
Make a backup of the 984 ladderlogic in both MODSOFT and PW32.